2019 ICE Award Nominations 

The 2019 Call for Award Nominations Have Closed


ICE seeks to recognize individuals/organizations that demonstrate innovative leadership in the credentialing and/or licensure industry, as well as those who have demonstrated outstanding commitment or service. Self-nominations are acceptable.

Nominating yourself, a colleague or organization for an ICE Award is a great way to recognize knowledge and leadership strengths. Award winners receive recognition on the ICE WebsiteCredentialing Insights online journal, and an invitation to the ICE Awards Ceremony and Luncheon Wednesday, November 20. 


New! Research Award

The ICE Research Award recognizes an individual or organization that conducted credentialing-related research of particular significance to the ICE community. This award also seeks to recognize best practice in research as well as the impact on the credentialing community. Examples include research that measures the value of certification, provides evidence to support decision-making, enhances policies or procedures, addresses psychometric issues, or helps solve a specific credentialing problem.

Lifetime Achievement Award

ICE's most prestigious award, the Lifetime Achievement Award, is presented periodically in recognition of long-standing, extraordinary contributions to the credentialing industry. The award recognizes individuals whose vision, efforts, commitment and contributions have advanced the credentialing profession.

Credentialing Industry Leadership Award

The Credentialing Industry Leadership Award recognizes an individual who demonstrated innovative leadership in the credentialing and/or licensure industry by developing, implementing and researching programs or practices.

Service Award

The ICE Service Award recognizes an individual who displayed exemplary service and commitment to the organization, who was instrumental in facilitating the achievement of the organization’s goals, and who demonstrated a history of volunteer service in ICE.

Innovator Award

The ICE Innovator Award recognizes an individual or organization who/that created an innovative approach to a product, policy, process, or system that transforms or achieves a new level of success in a unique and innovative way. The specific innovation should be one that is transformative and replicable for other individuals/organizations and not profession/industry specific.

Next Gen Professional Award

The ICE Next Gen Professional Award recognizes an individual who is early in the development of their credentialing career and is forty-years old or younger. This individual should demonstrate commitment to developing skills necessary for success in the credentialing profession, a desire to create a career path in credentialing, and a willingness to mentor others within their organization.

Past Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award 

2018 Cynthia C. Durley
2017 Joan E. Knapp
2016 Carol Hartigan
2015 David Swankin
2014 Paul Grace
2010 William Hogan
2000 Ben Shimberg
1999 Dennis Faulk

Credentialing Industry Leadership Award

2018 Cary List
2017 Lawrence J. Fabrey
2016 Denise Fandel
2015 Ray Infante
2014 Karen Plaus
2013 Denise Humphrey
2011 Cynthia Miller Murphy
2009 Lynn D. Anderson
2008 Melissa Murer Corrigan
2007 Lenora G. Knapp
2006 Susan H. Eubanks
2005 I. Leon Smith
2004 Gary Smith
2003 Mary Smolenski
2002 Paul Grace
2001 James Henderson
2000 Tom Clawson

Service Award 

2018 John Wickett
2017 Christopher Butcher
2016 Linda Lysoby
2015 Jefferson Glassie
2014 Sandra Greenberg
2013 Paul Grace
2012 James Henderson
2011 Johnna Gueorguieva
2010 Francine Butler
2009 Lawrence J. Fabrey
2008 Cynthia Durley
2007 Richard A. Goldberg
2006 Larry Early
2005 Joan Knapp
2004 David Swankin
2003 James Hogan
2002 Maralyn Turner
2001 Michael Martin

Innovator Award 

2018 NBCOT

NextGen Professional Award 

2018 Cynthia Sena Kusorgbor-Narh